Rejection

“Rejection is about the other person: it’s a reflection of their mistaken perception. If they don’t hang around with you it’s their loss. Feel sorry for them. They got it wrong. Focus on the ones who made the smart move.” – Owen Fitzpatrick
         Most people who know me know that I have expierenced a lot of rejections. I have had people make fun of me. They clearly didn’t want to be friends with me. I have had guys who would go on a date with me and either ignore me or say it is not going to work out between us. I have had job rejection after job rejection.  This isn’t a blog post about how I eventually was accepted in relationships, careers, and other areas of my life.  Because the truth is I am STILL experiencing  rejection. But this quote really grabbed my attention. It made me look at rejection from another perspective. This isn’t the end of the tunnel. Oh I wish it was. I wish I could say that I get picked every time. But that is just not reality. So here is something that I have been told lately. Rejection is not about me. It is about them.  We live in a flawed world and so there will be a lot of painful rejections. But we can move forward knowing that we are enough and we are loved by God.

“All that the Father gives Me will come to Me, and the one who comes to Me I will certainly not cast out. – John 6:37

One thought on “Rejection

Leave a Reply

